Video Game Review – Deus Ex: Human Revolution

I recently wrote a long philosophical review of Deus Ex: Human Revolution. Libertarians may want to read the review because the game actually is remarkably sophisticated (and very libertarian-compatible) in its critique of Corporatism and regulation. Also, it clearly distinguishes these from an actual free market. Honestly, I’ve never seen such a sophisticated analysis of Corporatism in a video game before.

I didn’t post the full review here because it is both rather lengthy and analyzes/discusses a lot of philosophical issues raised by the plot. Since most readers here are not Objectivists, my philosophical commentary is probably less interesting in aggregate to this blog’s general readership than the political-economic commentary I made.

Full review can be found at Objectivist Living, here: http://www.objectivistliving.com/forums/index.php?showtopic=11126

All comments welcomed!

4 thoughts on “Video Game Review – Deus Ex: Human Revolution

  1. There is one point you can clear up for us- is the game FUN? Do all kinds of people like to play it?

  2. I found it fun, and the critical reception has been very positive so far.

    This does not mean you necessarily will find it fun but its certainly something I’d recommend you try. Although it is a deep and complex game and not one for those with limited attention spans or preferences for simpler and fast-paced games.

  3. since we don’t have a ‘Discussion’ section, I’ll raise this here. I found a leaflet on my car windscreen last night, from CATA, the Consumer And Taxpayers Association. It is headed on both sides with ‘Convoy of no consequence? to Marrickville.’ they are calling for a march down Marrickville road to Mr. Albanese’s electoral office, on Thursday.
    This is all new to me! Who is CATA? Has anyone else heard of them? They can be reached at cata@hotmail.com.au or on http://www.stopcarbonlies.com if you want to find out about them, apparently.
    Sorry, jim, I know you wanted to lead the revolution that will completely overturn society, but someone else is trying to get in first!

  4. The Australian has even mentioned this march, in the strewth section!
    I think that what the march needs is a quote from Shakespear, suitably adapted-
    ‘Our winter of discontent will be changed into a glorious summer by this Springtime of marches.’
    Culture AND convoys- what more do you need?

Comments are closed.